This blog is not for the light-hearted or easily offended. If either one of those descriptions applies to you, i would suggest you start drinking before you read this blog. A sense of humor is suggested. If you don't have one that sucks for you … find one and get a life!

Book Review — Let’s Pretend this Never Happened — by Jenny Lawson

 

Through a stroke of exceptional luck, I received an advanced copy of  “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, A Mostly True Memoir” by The Bloggess.  The Bloggess, also known as Jenny Lawson, is one of the funniest people I have ever read and I say this begrudgingly since my kids have told me that “she’s funnier than you mom” which in my house is more taboo than saying “I hate you mom” so that’s really saying something.

 

For those of you who don’t know who she is, and I doubt that’s true of many of my readers since many of them came from her blog, she writes her own blog under the name The Bloggess.

 

While the book is seriously laugh out loud funny, it truly is a tale of learning to accept, and yes, even love yourself, foibles and all.  Most people think its easy being different but I’m here to tell you that it’s actually not.

 

I’ve always told my kids that when you walk your own path you are always true to yourself but at times it’s a long, lonely and arduous road.  You need thick skin and a true belief that being yourself is more important than trying to fit in.  In the long run you often have fewer friends but the ones who stick with you are your friends through and through.

 

This book begins with Jenny’s very offbeat childhood in rural Texas and ends with Jenny’s very offbeat adulthood in, well, rural Texas.  Along the way we meet her family, her supportive and loving husband Victor, who is obviously on the quirky side himself.

 

We learn of her oft-told stories of extreme anxiety, her autoimmune disorder and the very bumpy and traumatic road to the birth of their beloved daughter Hailey.  They are told in a funny and poignant fashion so that you smile and laugh even through the rough patches.

 

While we are very different people with very different personal histories, there were parts of this book that absolutely sung to me.  In fact, I felt like I was reading about myself in a parallel universe if I ever actually believed in such things as zombies and collecting dead taxidermied animals.

 

All in all, it’s a hilarious tale of climbing out. Out of what? Your background, your fear, your comfort zone, and most of all out of the part of each and every one of us that says don’t do it.

 

I agree with Jenny.  Take the path that’s right for you and you never know where you will end up.

 

And read this book, I enjoyed it and I think you will too!  Here’s the link!

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.

29 Comments

  1. Mayor Gia
    April 2, 2012

    Lucky!! I want to read it!
    Mayor Gia recently posted..Boyfriend and Popcorn and Spoons, Oh My!My Profile

    • Lynn
      April 2, 2012

      It was a pleasant surprise for show!!!!

  2. The Mommy Psychologist
    April 2, 2012

    You are so right. She is absolutely hilarious. I will be buying her book since I wasn’t lucky enough to win one:)

    “The child psychologist who thought she had all the answers to parenting until she became one herself.” http://www.themommypsychologist.com

    • Lynn
      April 2, 2012

      A psychologist will have a field day with this book

  3. Charmaine
    April 2, 2012

    I am interested to read this book review..I know I learn a lot of things in here..Thanks for sharing this to us..
    Charmaine recently posted..Copywriting Agency DevonMy Profile

  4. Nicole
    April 2, 2012

    I love this book. the story is very alive and funny but has a moral lesson of real life. I wanted to buy this book too.
    Nicole recently posted..murano glassMy Profile

    • Lynn
      April 2, 2012

      It’ll be out soon

  5. Jenny, Bloggess
    April 2, 2012

    You so rock. Thanks!

    • Lynn
      April 2, 2012

      Yeah I know, it’s a gift! I’m just kidding…no really, i read the book on vacation and it was sorta spooky for me. Good luck with it all.

  6. Julie
    April 2, 2012

    Thanks for the review. I read her blog as well and will soon be adding it to the kindle. I can’t read right now because I have the FEVER. The March Madness Fever, and I’m burning up!!

    • Lynn
      April 2, 2012

      Go Kansas!!!! Ahahaha..lithe only prescription is more cowbell.

      • Julie
        April 2, 2012

        Dislike

  7. Melanie
    April 2, 2012

    Thanks for the review. I am anxiously awaiting my Kindle copy. I pre-ordered like the nerd I am.

    Being different is rough. Much less rough since I have embraced it and taken a more, “If people don’t like me that’s their issue” stance on the whole matter.

    • Lynn
      April 2, 2012

      Good for you! Hear hear

  8. Jester Queen
    April 2, 2012

    I’m guessing it’s because my parents always supported me and I grew up isolated by geography from other kids, but I never had a problem with feeling like I should pay attention to what other people thought of me. Not, I might add, always a good thing :)

    • Lynn
      April 2, 2012

      good for you…i don’t know if people don’t always pay attention or if it just makes them awkward and outsiders

  9. Pamela D Hart
    April 2, 2012

    My favorite saying: Hate me for who I AM but don’t like me for who I am NOT.

    It’s how I’ve always lived my life. I guess a dysfunctional childhood has a few advantages.

    • Lynn
      April 2, 2012

      Hee! I didn’t personally have a dysfunctional childhood

  10. Missy | The Literal Mom
    April 2, 2012

    I ordered my copy and am HOPING it arrives before I go on vacation at the end of the month. Great review. I love what you teach your kids about being themselves. You’re a damn fine woman, Lynn.

    • Lynn
      April 2, 2012

      Awww thank you…that’s sweet. When is it due? I was excited to be able to get an advanced copy. :)

  11. DivinneGrace
    April 2, 2012

    This book looks really interesting…Anyway, thanks Lynn for the great review here…I am sure I will get my own copy if this will be released…
    DivinneGrace recently posted..mobility vansMy Profile

    • Lynn
      April 2, 2012

      Def worth reading

  12. Amanda Griffin
    April 2, 2012

    This Book Review really rocks. Thanks for it. I want to read it. So cool.
    Amanda Griffin recently posted..seo agencyMy Profile

  13. Karen
    April 3, 2012

    Great review! Anxiously awaiting my copy to arrive in a couple of weeks…gotta clear the book calendar!

  14. Zhariane
    April 3, 2012

    That is a very pretty exciting book to read.. Thanks for sharing this great review.. I really hope our bookstore here as a copy of this.. :)
    Zhariane recently posted..Gout Natural RemediesMy Profile

  15. Carson
    April 4, 2012

    I’m so excited it’s really here! Not to sound real or anything, but you are SO my mentor. I blog because I can. My dream is to be published. I heart you.
    Carson recently posted..blu cigsMy Profile

    • Lynn
      April 4, 2012

      I’m your mentor? or Jenny? Hmmmmm….not sure that either one of us are good mentors

  16. Rachel
    April 4, 2012

    I am so super jealous that you got an advanced copy!! I am dying for my book to get here!! I did find your blog through hers, and I love reading both!! Thanks for keeping me preoccupied while I am at work… this way, my bosses don’t expect too much from me!!
    Rachel recently posted..Believe Trust LoveMy Profile

    • Lynn
      April 4, 2012

      Always happy to keep people from their job. Of course, I’m not a very good influence. Hooe you enjoy the book!!!

Follow Lynn on Facebook Follow Lynn on Twitter Follow Lynn via RSS Follow Lynn on Pinterest
Enter your Email

Recent articles


Follow Lynn on Facebook Follow Lynn on Twitter Follow Lynn via RSS Follow Lynn on Pinterest




Go to All Fooked Up Store 

Lynn MacDonald Art